As the Chief Investment Officer for the County, the Treasurer is responsible for safeguarding and investing monies within the guidelines set forth in the County Investment Policy.
Per the General Property Tax Act 206 of 1893 MCL 211.135, the County Treasurer's Office is responsible for issuing a tax certification on deeds and other real estate documents prior to recording the documents.
Notice: New State Law changes some filing fees - click here
Interest Claim Form for Foreclosure Sale Proceeds
In accordance to the new law MCL 211.78t, this form must be completed in full, notarized and delivered to the Roscommon County Treasurer ONLY via certified mail or by personal service (hand delivered) by 4:30 p.m., July 1st.
If this form is delivered AFTER July 1, you have forfeited your right to claim any excess proceeds.
By filling out this form, you are showing the intent to make a claim. After the Foreclosure Sale is over, a claimant must file with the 34th Circuit Court a motion to claim the proceeds. The claims period runs February 1 to May 15 in the year following the sale/transfer.
Click on the image on the left to download the form.
On March 1st all unpaid taxes are turned over to the County Treasurer as delinquent. At that time a 4% administrative fee is added and interest accrues at 1% per month until paid.
If taxes remain unpaid for 3 years the County Treasurer will then foreclose on the property and sell it at public auction. Paying someone's taxes does NOT give you a legal right to the property.
Principal Residence Exemption Audits
The County Treasurer's office is the auditor of Principal Residence Exemptions (PRE) in Roscommon County.
What is a Principal Residence Exemption?
A Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) exempts you from having to pay the tax levied for a local school district for school operating purposes up to 18 mills. To qualify for the PRE this must be your permanent home, to which, whenever absent you intend to return. You must not be claiming an exemption on more than one home, either in Michigan or in another state with a similar exemption.
Audits are conducted on the current year and the three (3) immediately preceding tax years. Leads and referrals are received from various sources (residents, assessors, the state, etc). Audits are continually done by the Treasurer's Office to confirm that those receiving the exemption continue to qualify.
The PRE Auditor will send an Audit letter and an Audit Questionnaire regarding questionable PRE's. This is in an effort to obtain additional information about the property and/or the owners. Be sure to complete the form and return it within 30 days along with proof of your occupancy (driver's license, voter registration, address portion of your state tax return, utility bills, vehicle registration etc). Failure to timely return the questionnaire could result in the denial of your exemption.
If your PRE is denied, the County Treasurer's Office is required to bill the denial. In addition to the 18 mills of school operating taxes, you will be charged interest at a rate of 1.25% per month retroactive to the original bill date, as required by state statute. If you believe the denial was issued in error, you can appeal within 35 days to the Michigan Tax Tribunal, PO Box 30232, Lansing, MI 48909.
|Male or Female||$10||$10|
|All Animals after March 1||$40||$40|
Pet Licenses can be purchased year round at the County Treasurer's office, the Animal Shelter, Roscommon Veterinary Clinic, and South Shore Animal Hospital.
You can also purchase them November - February at the following township offices: Denton, Gerrish, Markey, Richfield and Roscommon.